Lovely bottle of Shiraz
£20

Lovely job

hans kraay fan club

The voice of reason.
Helpful Moderator
Mar 16, 2005
Chandlers Ford
I'm not very good at being serious. I deliberately put one the names of one of our waitresses at our local cafe on my girlfriend's card. I might live to regret this !
So your girlfriend will think she’s received a card from the waitress?

Herr Tubthumper

NSC Patron
Jul 11, 2003
The Fatherland
I'm sure you have. it is just the perception of France being "special", culinary wise, is seriously over-rated....as most 'good food' experts will confirm.
When you say over rated what do you mean exactly? I’m genuinely interested. Is it a perception that restaurants in France are generally a higher standard than other countries?

Weststander

NSC Patron
Aug 25, 2011
Withdean area
When you say over rated what do you mean exactly? I’m genuinely interested. Is it a perception that restaurants in France are generally a higher standard than other countries?

Is Rick Stein’s TV travels around the French regions, he lamented the remorseless loss of good restaurants and culinary knowledge passed down the generations.

Probably a number of things going on; globalisation (even McDonalds), young people are leaving for the cities, and the change in culture …. towns and villages comprised small factories and artisans, everyone literally had long lunches, that’s passed. We were told when traveling in France last year that post pandemic young people and those with young families had decided to leave hospitality for good.

Michelin starred restaurants in Paris, Lyons and Toulouse would be the exception that proves the rule.

Ironically RS found young British restaurant owners dotted around who were determined to preserve the ancient skills.

Herr Tubthumper

NSC Patron
Jul 11, 2003
The Fatherland
Is Rick Stein’s TV travels around the French regions, he lamented the remorseless loss of good restaurants and culinary knowledge passed down the generations.