Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Hello from a new member! Gordon Smith Story

And Smith Did Score

May 9, 2010
Glasgow
Hi Everyone. I'm just new to NSC and thought I would say hello. I've been up in Glasgow for the last 20 years so not exactly a regular at the Withdean! Visited 3 times and once to the Millenium stadium.

Back in the day I had a season ticket with my dad. Started in the south stand on day one in the 1st division, against Arsenal and a 0-4 hammering as I remember! Moved quickly to the Mecano stand when it opened.

I had a rare moment last week that I wanted to tell you about with Gordon Smith. It was arranged by my wife who met the former chairman of the S.F.A. He told her in conversation that he knew Gordon. She came home from work and told me the story. Well...as a real Gordon Smith fan I wanted to meet him. I had something interesting to show him!

Cheryl went to work the next day and asked if the meeting could take place. Well Gordon now had our number...would he call.

Two days later... I check the answer phone messages and Gordon had called! I phoned him back and ......What a decent guy. He arranged to meet me in a hotel for a chat. He travelled a 60 mile round trip just to meet a Brighton fan.

The reason I wanted to meet him was I has a copy of Roy of the Rovers from 1980 that I had requested Gordon Smith to be the centre page picture. I wanted him to sign it in person.

I met him last Saturday, we had a really long chat about the old days at the Albion and informed me that his time spent at the Albion was the highlight of his career. Honestly...he spoke with so much passion and still holds BHA in high regard.

He came to the meeting with his Brighton top and Tracksuit from the F.A Cup Final. Quality. I actually got to hold the top that scored a goal in the final and went on to become the most infamous top in F.A Cup history.