Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Other Sport] Owen Farrell

Guinness Boy

Tofu eating wokerati
Helpful Moderator
NSC Patron
Jul 23, 2003
Up and Coming Sunny Portslade
Many is the time I've seen NSC sages state that football should be refereed more like rugby and that VAR works in rugby.

Well, as an egg-chasing layman I've been following the Owen Farrell situation and here's what it looks like to me. Ref gives a yellow on the field (which means sin bin). While Farrell is in the bin VAR change it to a red. It's then appealed and goes back to a yellow thanks to a committee. This sets loose the social media hounds of Wales, Scotland and Australia who spend a day crying about it before another committee says they will review it again and make it a red again.

Imagine if that happened in football, that we lost Harry Kane or Kyle Walker from two World Cup games because some blokes in Perth, Dundee and Neath were a bit upset.

What a shambles. What an absolute clusterfuck. Please NEVER tell me again on here that football should be more like rugby.

......and relax.....

Nobby Cybergoat

Jul 19, 2021
Well, lots of things in football should be more like in rugby. On field treatment while the game is going on, the way that when a decision is being reviewed, people in the ground actually have a clue what is going on. Lots of cultural things are better as well, for example lack of play acting

But yes, this Farrell thing is farcical.

I guess no sport gets it right all the time

fly high

Aug 25, 2011
in a house
Many is the time I've seen NSC sages state that football should be refereed more like rugby and that VAR works in rugby.