Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Archaeologists check Falmer site ????

Easy 10

Brain dead MUG SHEEP
Jul 5, 2003
Location Location
This is standard practice prior to any major construction project.

Beeercan

Jul 14, 2005
Colchester
This is standard part of the planning process, planning law PPG16.

They would have already carried out any desk-based work on the site. this work will be just precautionary as with any building work. If any thing had been found in the past, the site would not have been allowed by the council/respective archaeological body for the area.

The likelihood anything will be found, beyond pieces of pot, and possible farm machinery/debris will be small. they just have to have them in to do the survey to comply with the law.

I should know i am an archaeology student.

Sep 14, 2006
Philadelphia
Lets hope they find two new full backs, a complete midfield and a back up striker.

Lankyseagull

One Step Beyond
Jul 25, 2006
The Field of Uck
But..... what happens if they do find something though?

IF they find something, the Archaeologists will need to agree a programme which identifies the period of time that the contractor (and the Albion) are willing to allow them to investigate their finds.

It is then up to the Archaeologists to ensure that all work they need to undertake is completed by the agreed date in order not to delay the contract.

If anything significant is found, protection of the find may be required. This could delay the project in order that design proposals for the method of protection can be agreed.

My experience of this was on a significant housing project in Colchester, where archaeologists unearthed the only Roman Circus (chariot racing arena) in this country. Due to the significance of this discovery, further investigation was warranted (Time Team also got involved for a "special programme").

But the Archaeologists still HAD to complete their work by the set deadline.

Sep 14, 2006