Barry Izbak
U.T.A.
My letter to the FL
I would be grateful if you can advise whether the public can expect to hear an explanation from referee Danny McDermid for his decision to convert a free-kick 15 yards from the halfway line into a penalty kick during the game he officiated in on Saturday afternoon?
His decision is clearly contrary to the laws of the game, and I would welcome an explanation how he came to make his decision. I would be content with any feedback, other than a denial to respond, whether he can explain his decision, or even if he can say he made an honest mistake.
From the Football League's position, I would be interested to learn what role the assitant officials play in an incident like the one that occured on Saturday. The referee has clearly brought the integrity of the game into some degree of disrepute, and whether an assessor was present or not, I would be interested to know whether this triggers a mechanism that might mean Mr McDermid faces some type of internal sanction within your organisation or the referee's.
Yours Faithfully,
The FL reply arrived today
Thank you for your email.
As procedure I passed on your comments to the Referees department who made contact with Brighton to receive their comments.
In this instance Gordon Greer was sent off for violent conduct which Brighton do not dispute and accept.
The Referee then had to make a decision as to whether the incident occurred after the Rochdale player had played the ball, thus putting it into play, or not. He deemed that it had and therefore the ball was in play. This was not an easy decision as a referee has to look towards the incident as well as look at the free kick from his peripheral vision. He ruled it in play.
The League have spoken to Gus Poyet, who accepts that his player was totally in the wrong, but disputes whether the ball was in play. He accepts that this was not an easy decision for the Referee. It is the referee’s opinion which counts on the day and hence this was not in breach of the Laws of the Game. The Referee will not be sanctioned by the Referee’s Department.
Your comments are noted and whilst this response may not be what you were hoping for we do appreciate your patience while we have looked into this further for you.
Kind Regards
Amanda
Amanda Craig | Customer Services Administrator
The Football League Limited
I would be grateful if you can advise whether the public can expect to hear an explanation from referee Danny McDermid for his decision to convert a free-kick 15 yards from the halfway line into a penalty kick during the game he officiated in on Saturday afternoon?
His decision is clearly contrary to the laws of the game, and I would welcome an explanation how he came to make his decision. I would be content with any feedback, other than a denial to respond, whether he can explain his decision, or even if he can say he made an honest mistake.
From the Football League's position, I would be interested to learn what role the assitant officials play in an incident like the one that occured on Saturday. The referee has clearly brought the integrity of the game into some degree of disrepute, and whether an assessor was present or not, I would be interested to know whether this triggers a mechanism that might mean Mr McDermid faces some type of internal sanction within your organisation or the referee's.
Yours Faithfully,
The FL reply arrived today
Thank you for your email.
As procedure I passed on your comments to the Referees department who made contact with Brighton to receive their comments.
In this instance Gordon Greer was sent off for violent conduct which Brighton do not dispute and accept.
The Referee then had to make a decision as to whether the incident occurred after the Rochdale player had played the ball, thus putting it into play, or not. He deemed that it had and therefore the ball was in play. This was not an easy decision as a referee has to look towards the incident as well as look at the free kick from his peripheral vision. He ruled it in play.
The League have spoken to Gus Poyet, who accepts that his player was totally in the wrong, but disputes whether the ball was in play. He accepts that this was not an easy decision for the Referee. It is the referee’s opinion which counts on the day and hence this was not in breach of the Laws of the Game. The Referee will not be sanctioned by the Referee’s Department.
Your comments are noted and whilst this response may not be what you were hoping for we do appreciate your patience while we have looked into this further for you.
Kind Regards
Amanda
Amanda Craig | Customer Services Administrator
The Football League Limited