Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Albion] Marcelo Gallardo

stewart_weir

Mar 19, 2017
Haven’t seen his name mentioned much at all but there has been some reports by the South American press that he’s a manager of interest.

I think he would be perfect and whilst his name has been mentioned as a future Barcelona manager I think we would be a great stepping stone club (for that’s what we are right now) into European football. Quite an old video but a good summary

https://youtu.be/MDo5rMWF5l4

stewart_weir

Mar 19, 2017
His name has been mentioned on multiple threads, but the general opinion is that he wouldn't be interested in joining us.

Agree and also Alexis may have an issue. Last I looked Gallardo was 25/1 but he ticks every box plus a lot more. I would say we have/will make enquiries because we have had an increasingly big presence in SA for our recruitment. Here’s the latest report (off the back of an earlier Daily Express report)

https://www.tribalfootball.com/articles/river-plate-coach-marcelo-gallardo-a-candidate-for-brighton-job-4428946

Super Steve Earle

Feb 23, 2009
North of Brighton
Now I've had time to look him up, I'm in. If we are to compete with the Big Six, we need an elite manager in waiting. Gallardo seems a little further up the ladder than Knutsen or Roberto.

Hugo Rune

NSC Patron
Feb 23, 2012
Brighton
A positive thought. Due to his short contract and the financial level of SA football, the compensation for River affordable.

Swansman

Pro-peace
May 13, 2019
Sweden
- two time Champions League (or Copa Libertadores as it is called) winner
- makes £6m+ a year in River
- says "as long as I can choose, I will always choose River" but has to contemplate after each season since the pressure in that club is immense
- currently in a title battle with River, season ends in December
- allegedly turned down Barcelona last year when they wanted to replace Koeman