Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Misc] What do your DIY skills stretch to ?

What do your skills run to ?

• Total voters

WATFORD zero

NSC Patron
Jul 10, 2003
I'm somewhat limited in my DIY skills but being old with a toolbox that has been built up over 40 years can turn my hand to a few things. Having seeing yet another plumbing advice thread it has got me wondering. I have close Family who can just about build a house, (groundworks, bricklaying, carpentry, plumbing, plastering etc etc) but I simply stand back and look on jealously

So, where would you rate your DIY skills ?

jcdenton08

Enemy of the People
NSC Patron
Oct 17, 2008
I am a theatre stage manager, and horrible at DIY. @JOLovegrove

I think the key is to either get good, have mates who are good, or earn enough to pay people who are.

I can put together set pieces/ikea furniture/follow instructions doing simple tasks. But when drills and stuff are involved I get intimidated, and always f*** it up when I give it a college try.

Guinness Boy

Tofu eating wokerati
Helpful Moderator
NSC Patron
Jul 23, 2003
Up and Coming Sunny Portslade
I shouldn't be trusted with a paintbrush. Mrs GB is very handy however. We're that odd family where I do a lot of the cooking, washing, hoovering etc and she gets stuck in to repairs and the flatpack.

I can unblock loos and drains with a plunger but any more that that and we need a plumber.

The Clamp

NSC Patron
Jan 11, 2016
West is BEST
In my twenties I helped my gf’s uncle on building jobs. He taught me a fair bit. We built a few extensions/summer houses among other things and I can lay a good patio, lay bricks decently etc but I wouldn’t touch electrics, gas or most plumbing jobs.

I spent a year as a maintenance man when I couldn’t find other work. I fixed a lot of toilets that year 😟 and a LOT of painting and decorating. I do a mean, free hand, straight line, no tape required even if I say so myself.