Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Web Site Building Help...

tedebear

Legal Alien
Jul 7, 2003
In my computer
I'm a complete novice at web site building but am having a go....I've got MacroMedia Dreamweaver MX which seems exceptionlly over the top for what I need but I got it free some years ago so thought I'd use it. Anyhow first question is I've built my basic first page but now that its published it seems to be using the web hosts text on the tab top in Internet Explorer. For example when I've got NSC open in a tab, the tab top says The Big Board (if I'm on the Big Board). When my page is also open next to it it says "Web Hosting, domain name..." and you can't read the rest but when you hover on it you can.

So what is this tab top called and how do I change it from my 1&1 Hosts text?

Thanks

Goldstone Rapper

Rediffusion PlayerofYear
Jan 19, 2009
BN3 7DE
What's the web address, tedebear?

Tyrone Biggums

Jun 25, 2006
Geelong, Australia
I always found using free premade templates the easiest way to get a nice looking page up and running in a short time.

Free Website Templates

It's also a handy way to see how the coding looks and works as they are all designed to be changeable to suit your needs.

Arthur

Jul 8, 2003
Buxted Harbour
I did that thanks and then I republished and it didn't change :-(

Well not wishing to sound rude, but you've done something wrong then.

Great thing about client side code is you can learn an awful lot from nicking from others. For example if you view the source of this page you'll see that the title for this page is:

<title> Web Site Building Help...</title>

And unless I'm not understanding you right that is what you are trying to achieve (with your own title obviously)??

tedebear

Legal Alien
Jul 7, 2003
In my computer
Well not wishing to sound rude, but you've done something wrong then.