University disciplinary hearing

Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

wizo7

Man Met Massive
Dec 17, 2008
Bolney
I have been summoned to attend a disciplinary hearing regarding a piece of coursework that I did last term, there are allegations of plagiarism. I am absolutely bricking it as I’m currently in my 2nd year at Manchester Met and anything that stops me getting into the 3rd year would be a disaster!!

I know I didn’t plagiarise, but after looking through it again there is a lot of poor referencing going on! Does anyone in the university sector know what I should say/do at the meeting to defend my case?

An opinion from “El presidente” would be well received especially as I know he works in the Business school as well. Cheers. :cry:

Brian Fantana

Oct 8, 2006
In the field
I know it sounds very obvious but just tell the truth and be absolutely honest with them. My housemate had a similar hearing last year and that seemed to be work for him. Good luck, I am sure everything will be fine.

ATFC Seagull

Aberystwyth Town FC
Jul 27, 2004
(North) Portslade
Its probably because of the referencing, not because of actual allegations. You will probably have marks deducted, but based on the people I know who went through similar, they won't discipline you in terms of expulsion unless they think you have copied actual sections of essays from a peer or online.

Seagull's Return

Nov 7, 2003
Brighton
Depends on your university's regulations, I guess: are you up on a "major" or a "minor" charge? Crap referencing (which is, in effect, plagiarism) would on the face of it suggest a minor one if the distinction exists, in which case - depending again on the regulations - it'll likely be a slap on the wrist with the proviso that if you do it again it'll be treated as a major offence.

strings

Moving further North...
Feb 19, 2006
Barnsley
go to the students union and ask them to send someone with you to represent you nad to assist.

:thumbsup: