Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Small claims court

sams dad

I hate Palarse
Feb 7, 2004
The Hill of The Gun
I'm a builder and I am having difficulty with a couple of customers who are "reluctant "to pay the money they owe me.The amounts involved are £750 and £1350,and if necessary I shall take the matter to the small claims court .Has anybody had any experience of this process? Is it a fairly simple procedure?
If judgement is awarded to me ,what steps can I then take to recover the money?Any advice would be appreciated.

Cian

Jul 16, 2003
Dublin, Ireland
Only in Ireland, but I beleive the UK system is similar

I took HP to the SCC over them wiping my hard drive in a laptop with no consent. HP failed to send a rep to the hearing, which I wasn't even needed at. I was awarded everything I asked for (€550 I think it was), but its not like the courts system actual go and get you the cash - all you have is the judgement. Initial cost was something like €25 to file the case.

HP paid me, however.

Shropshire Seagull

Nov 5, 2004
Telford
I've used the county court and it worked very well.

I bought a car that was adverstised in Exhange & Mart - the ad stated it had 6 months tax. It wasn't till I'd had the car a week that I noticed the tax had expired. I spoke to a trading standards officer (by chance) and he advised the following:

Send a recorded delivery letter explaining what you are asking them for, how much, and why - end the letter with "if this has not been paid in full within 14 days I shall be taking the matter to the county court".