Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Sign him up!?

Diego Napier

Mar 27, 2010
From the Seagulls website:

"Sussex-based goalkeeper Tom Betts could realise his sporting dream if he is selected to play for England Under-18s Schoolboys against their Republic of Ireland counterparts at the Amex next Thursday - kick-off 7.35pm.

The Burgess Hill Town stopper, and former Albion season-ticket holder, has been selected for England's Centenary Shield matchday squad and he will wait and see if he is selected to start between the posts at the stunning stadium.

The 18-year-old said, "I was a season-ticket holder at Withdean then I started playing for Burgess Hill Town, so I couldn't watch Brighton play anymore. I went to various rallies for the new stadium and I've seen the Amex being built from the beginning, so it would be a dream come true to play there.

"Words can't explain what that will mean to me. The game will finish my England Under-18s career and to play at the Amex will be the perfect way to do it. If I could play anywhere in England it would be at the Amex.

"I love coming here and it will be an amazing night for me, so I just hope I start."

Betts was invited to trial for the England Schoolboy side along with 300 other players and 15 goalkeepers following a successful run of games for Sussex Under-18s, and now he could experience cup glory for England, if Wales do not get a result in Northern Ireland tonight.

"We are second in the table and Wales are ahead of us. If Wales win against Northern Ireland they win the competition but if they don't win we can either go level with them or we can win it.

"There is a lot to play for and I know so many people around this club and around the county that it will feel like a home crowd to me. I've got a lot of people coming to watch me and I can't wait.