Real-life Dilbert moments

Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Codner pharmaceuticals

Jun 17, 2009
Border Country
I am leaving a failing company and every day for the last few months has felt like I am in a Dilbert sketch.

Share your real-life Dilbert moments

My personal favourite:

It is the day we decide that we need to make a significant number of redundancies

- The owner goes on a "well-deserved" 7th or 8th holiday of the year

- Leaves the rest of us to break the news

- Authorises spend on a PR company to write an application for his nomination as one of the top 100 influencers in our industry

Please tell me I am not alone...

Love Dilbert, when I used to work as a humble User Acceptance Tester I had the Dilbert daily calendar on my desk which was circulate around the team - so much of it was relevant particularly as Dilbert's organisation seemed very similar to the one I worked for. Now I just get a daily cartoon pinged to my inbox.

Can't pin down a particular moment but I love Dogbert, and Wally is an all time hero.

happypig

Staring at the rude boys
May 23, 2009
Eastbourne
I once had a boss say "You're better qualified, more experienced and more suitable than Cliff,as well as already being the substantive grade. Trouble is I already told him he'd get the job and if I gave it to you I'd look bad. What we're going to do, therefore, is say you're a poor performer and demote you."
I replied "All that, just so you don't have to admit you lied ?"

brakespear

Doctor Worm
Feb 24, 2009
Sleeping on the roof
I used to love Dilbert and then, after reading a collection of the strips, there was a rant from the author about the power of positive thinking and how it could solve all your problems and I've steered clear ever since.

Last edited:

fly high

Aug 25, 2011
in a house