Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Off Topic; Golf for newbies

Scoffers

Jan 13, 2004
Burgess Hill
I'm just starting out as a newbie golfer, hardly played at all, but been up the Burgess Hill driving range to try and get in to it. I've had one lesson there and the chap told me my clubs were making it harder (to be fair, they are ancient!).

My question out there to any Seagulls Golfers - do I really need new Golf Clubs? do they actually make a difference to a newbie like me? Is it worth shelling out for a full set or maybe just one or two?

Any advice would be helpful :)

D

Deleted User X18H

You need at least a half set.

Last time I went round with a 6,7,8 Iron. 3 and a 5 wood. A pitching wedge a putter.

markw

Aug 28, 2009
Do not bother with a half set, look around for secondhand clubs, recent callaway big bertha irons are very forgiving, i have a set of ping g2's, very forgiving and quality clubs that you can pick up on ebasy for a good price, a good set of forgiving irons make a major difference.

Scoffers

Jan 13, 2004
Burgess Hill
How old are your clubs?
Maybe they just need new grips?

They are probably 10 years old at least, possibly older.

What they told me was that when you place the club down at the correct angle to the ball, with my clubs, I'd need to be 3 ft tall - suggesting that my old clubs have somehow bent out of shape.

Scoffers

Jan 13, 2004
Burgess Hill
Do not bother with a half set, look around for secondhand clubs, recent callaway big bertha irons are very forgiving, i have a set of ping g2's, very forgiving and quality clubs that you can pick up on ebasy for a good price, a good set of forgiving irons make a major difference.

cool thanks, by the way, what would be a "good price" for such clubs? I have no idea !

byf

Sep 26, 2003
Bournemouth