Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Mortgage question

bhafc99

Oct 14, 2003
Dubai
My wife and I used to own a house. Then we sold it and moved abroad (where we rent) for several years.

When we go back to the UK, will we be classed as 'first time buyers', because we don't have a property to sell, existing mortgage etc.

Or not?

Uncle C

Jul 6, 2004
Bishops Stortford
The government use examples like you to boost the 'first time buyer' figures. So Yes.

Uncle Spielberg

NSC Patron
Jul 6, 2003
Lancing
No. It is not the government lending the money, it is the lender.

Dusty_Fryer

May 12, 2009
Port Stanley
When I was an agent, I never really used the term 'first time buyer' - just 'in rented' or 'no property to sell'. Makes you more of an attractive proposition to vendors because there is no downward chain to go wonky and they don't see you as a novice. I think some of my more cynical colleagues liked Hoovering up FTBs because they were more gullible - easier to get mortgage / conveyancing / insurance / U-Switch leads etc.

My wife and I used to own a house. Then we sold it and moved abroad (where we rent) for several years.

When we go back to the UK, will we be classed as 'first time buyers', because we don't have a property to sell, existing mortgage etc.

Or not?

If you are talking about being able to apply for a particular bank's first-time buyer rates, the precise definition will vary from institution to institution, so I can only suggest that you contact them individually to ask. I vaguely remember seeing 'not holding a mortgage for 2 years' being mentioned from when we applied for our own FTB mortgage 6 months ago, but I can't remember which bank that was.

Uncle Spielberg

NSC Patron
Jul 6, 2003
Lancing
Why would you want to be classified as a ftb anyway ?, it is not an advantage and quite often a disadvantage. The rates are not better for ftb's.

Uncle Spielberg

NSC Patron
Jul 6, 2003
Lancing