Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Just stumbled across this from five years ago.

big nuts

Jan 15, 2011
Hove
My ambition for now is to make it as a pro'
Lewis Dunk is one of the shining stars at Brighton's academy, writes Benjie Goodhart. But, on the cusp of a career in football, how does a wide-eyed 16-year-old see his future panning out?
Share 1

Wednesday 20 February 2008 13.29 GMT

There's nothing like talking to young people to make you feel old. Lewis Dunk, one of the shining stars of Brighton and Hove Albion's youth academy, was born in 1991, by which time I was a student, already well-versed in sleeping until teatime Neighbours and failing to interest women. Sitting across my kitchen table from the 16-year-old and his dad, I am suddenly aware that I'm far closer in age to the latter and that given different circumstances I could be Lewis's father - except then he'd be crap at football.

Dunk tells me that he's doing a GCSE in Leisure and Tourism. I bite my tongue on the verge of scoffing that "leisure and tourism isn't a proper subject", the same way people used to scoff that "art isn't a proper subject - ancient Greek, now that's academia". I am, officially, a 35-year-old Old Git.

On his 16th birthday in November, Dunk was promoted to the Under-18 squad - a huge jump but he's not looked back. Having spent the last few months with players two years his senior, Dunk was recently part of the reserve team squad that travelled to Wycombe. He was on the bench and might have come on for 20 minutes had the senior pro Kerry Mayo not been sent off. This, remember, is a lad who was 15 three months ago.