Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Finance] Is this the cheapest way of running central heating? Can't find an answer on the internet

Mustafa II

Oct 14, 2022
Hove
If I turned off all the rads in my home except the one in the room I'm in - with the thermostat next to me - would this be the cheapest way to run central heating?

The internet has mixed views about this - what does NSC think?

Bald Head

Jul 20, 2022
Brighton
If I turned off all the rads in my home except the one in the room I'm in - with the thermostat next to me - would this be the cheapest way to run central heating?

The internet has mixed views about this - what does NSC think?
I suppose your not heating so much water ,must be cheaper in my view,but im no expert.

Fungus

NSC Patron
May 21, 2004
Truro
Surely some / lots of the heat from the boiler would be lost from the pipework around the house, even with the other radiators turned off? I’d be surprised if this was an efficient solution.

Mustafa II

Oct 14, 2022
Hove
Surely some / lots of the heat from the boiler would be lost from the pipework around the house, even with the other radiators turned off? I’d be surprised if this was an efficient solution.

I would have thought that as the water isn't motive that it would prevent loss of heat, as opposed to the water flowing throughout the house?

Birdie Boy

Jun 17, 2011
I'm sure I read on Octopus or BBC or somewhere this is the best way. Makes sense, why heat a room that your not in?

beorhthelm

A. Virgo, Football Genius
Jul 21, 2003
I would have thought that as the water isn't motive that it would prevent loss of heat, as opposed to the water flowing throughout the house?
water goes round in a circuit, one rad to the next. each themostat controls water coming off the circuit into that radiator. yes all the pipework would be heated, but also yes it's probably the cheapest way to run the heating. plus a wooly jumper.

BN9 BHA

DOCKERS
NSC Patron
Jul 14, 2013