Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Help] Benefits help

Balders

Aug 19, 2013
Hi

Hoping someone in the NSC Choir knows a thing or two about benefits (if they work for Crawley Council all the better!)

My vulnerable Sister moved in with her partner last year, is unable to work she receives ESA and PIP. Her partner is also unable to work, doesn't receive either of those, but gets Carers Allowance. Their benefit claims and payments have been managed by my elderly father and as both he and I have no real experience in same, we are a bit out of our depth. They haven't been getting Council Tax Relief - they live in his flat that he's had from the Council for a number of years and there are queries over that in respect of Rent/Housing Benefit. The biggest one is Universal Credit as we have no idea what they are getting and why as to what has been deducted.

Crawley Council are frustrating to deal with to get any info, but the major issue is that are unable to manage their money effectively, so we need to ascertain are they getting the correct benefits and what help is available for someone to help with their money management to remove the burden from my 86yo Dad?

PILTDOWN MAN

NSC Patron
Sep 15, 2004
Hurst Green
Hi

Hoping someone in the NSC Choir knows a thing or two about benefits (if they work for Crawley Council all the better!)