Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Any real solicitor types on here?

SussexHoop

Dec 7, 2003
Hoop Junior had her mobile confiscated at school today as she had it with her in the library. I've got no problem with them confiscating it and giving it back at the end of the day but the c:censored: ts seem to think they're entitled to keep it all weekend.

I'd like some serious advice please as to where I stand with this ...

Barrel of Fun

Abort, retry, fail
I would imagine that unless there is something clearly written into the school rules, such as how long they are allowed to keep hold of a confiscted object then you would be entitled to get it back ASAP.

I am not a lawyer, but the son and grandson of lawyers.

Any reasonable teacher would pass it over to you and expect you to act as you see fit, surely?

Clothes Peg

Mar 3, 2007
You've probably signed a sort of "home/school agreement" when Hoop jr joined the school. It is likely to have contained some kind of rule about confiscation for a period of time that the teacher deems reasonable.

Beach Hut

Brighton Bhuna Boy
Jul 5, 2003
Living In a Box
Hardly requires legal advice does it ?

Perhaps she might learn from this ?

Robot Chicken

Seriously?
Jul 5, 2003
Chicken World
Just done some searching:

Confiscation of inappropriate items: What the law now provides

3.8.1 The EIA 2006 provides two things. First, the overall power to enforce disciplinary penalties, described in section 3.3 of this guidance, would cover the use of confiscation as a disciplinary penalty (sanction). That includes seizure and also, as appropriate, the retention and disposal of certain items. As with other sanctions, the sanction of confiscation must be applied in a reasonable and proportionate way. But it would be entirely proper for a school to include confiscation as one of the disciplinary measures that might be applied as part of the school's behaviour policy.