Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Members
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Uffern
    Posts
    25,114

    Question for the techies


    0 Not allowed!
    I'm having real problems with my PC. I can't get Intenet connection at al. Ive checked with Virgin and I get a signal to the house and I can use wireless on the phone but my PC gets nada. I can't ping to the default gateway as an IPCONFIG search fot the IP address returns the messages 'media disconnected'. The phyical connection is fine and the Ethernet cable is fine, it's just that somehow the PC doesn't recognise that everything is fine.

    I've not changed any configuration, Ive had no strange error messages and the Ethernet cable will connect to an old laptop OK.A perfectly good connection will not be recognised

    I thought I was reasonanly techies and can fix most things but this is baffling - anyone got any ideas?

    • North Stand Chat

      advertising
      Join Date: Jul 2003
      Posts: Lots

        


    • #2

      0 Not allowed!
      Open device manager and take a look under network adapters. Is there anything there? If not the onboard network interface could be faulty. If there's something there but there's a yellow warning symbol on it, open the properties of the device and see what the error code is. This could indicate a driver problem. Has this happened suddenly or has it never worked?
    • #3
      I have changed this madinthehead's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      Oberursel, Germany
      Posts
      1,485


      0 Not allowed!
      If all looks good in the device manager try resetting the following for XP:

      Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

      Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

      Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

      Reboot the machine.

      Or for Vista or Win 7:

      TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Windows 7.

      Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

      In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

      Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

      Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

      Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

      Reboot the machine.
      Quote Originally Posted by 3-2 5-0 3-1 3-0 View Post
      This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
      I'm sorry for being such an arse, I won't do it again.

      Wilfried Zaha is not fit to clean Will Buckley's boots.
    • #4
      Members
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Sompting
      Posts
      75


      0 Not allowed!
      assume no wireless on PC?
      remove n/w cable wait 30 seconds and reconnect
      wait one minute, is still nothing then....
      command prompt ipconfig /renew , if still nothing then...
      ipconfig /release then reboot PC and try again
    • #5
      Members
      Join Date
      Jul 2003
      Location
      Uffern
      Posts
      25,114


      0 Not allowed!
      Thanks for the replies. I should have said that I was running XP, I checked device manager and card was fine, and that the PC has no wireless card. I will investigate option
    • #6
      Members
      Join Date
      Jul 2003
      Location
      Uffern
      Posts
      25,114


      0 Not allowed!
      Thanks for the replies. I should have said that I was running XP, I checked device manager and card was fine, and that the PC has no wireless card. I will investigate winsock option. I should also add that i've added no new devices it made any changes lately, and that it's been working ok for years
    • #7
      Members
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      7,157


      0 Not allowed!
      Quote Originally Posted by Gwylan View Post
      This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
      Thanks for the replies. I should have said that I was running XP, I checked device manager and card was fine, and that the PC has no wireless card. I will investigate winsock option. I should also add that i've added no new devices it made any changes lately, and that it's been working ok for years
      Could this be of help. Look in the BIOS and see if Ethernet has been disabled, if the BIOS does have that option. Stranger things have happened. I'm guessing your mb has built in ethernet.
      http://en.community.dell.com/support.../19039413.aspx
    • #8
      living vicariously GOM's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 2005
      Location
      Leeds - but not the dirty bit
      Posts
      2,631


      0 Not allowed!
      Friend of mine has exact same problem, all other devices OK but new PC, Virgin and Windows 8 no go. Still not resolved.
      face piles of trials, with smiles
      it riles them to believe that you perceive the web they weave.
    • #9
      A. Virgo, Football Genius
      Join Date
      Jul 2003
      Posts
      27,178


      0 Not allowed!
      have you tried turning it off and on again?


      and after that, how have you confirmed the physical connection and cable are fine? check with a known good computer/laptop, try changing the port used on the router, try different known good cable, make sure the cables sit properly (have you tried unplugging and plugging it back in...).
      Daily Mail readers are living in a perpetual hell, expecting their homes to be overrun at any minute by hoodie wearing, skunk smoking, muslim, transgender, asylum seekers.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •