Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Albion] Jens Scheuer women's team head coach leaves by mutual consent

Swansman

Pro-peace
May 13, 2019
Sweden
Andreé Jeglertz (Swedish coach who has won a bunch of titles here) and Amy Merricks (assistant manager, current interim) were the two main challengers for the job when Scheuer was appointed. Wonder if one of them will get the job now?

Main issue though is probably that the squad is a little shite.

zeetha

Apr 11, 2011
Blimey, he'd only been here a couple of months!

Thoughts @zeetha ? ( I look to you as our resident expert on the women's team)
Not sure I'm an expert! :LOL: Results haven't been good since he took over (apart from the cup run but those have been 'easier' games compared to the WSL so far), but I'm still surprised by this. He has been publically critical of the team which did make me wonder about how he was behind the scenes with the team. He also dropped Walsh which surprised me as she is our best goalie, and other players like Williams seemed out of favour. It can't have been easier taking over a team low on confidence and in transition so maybe he was just switching things around to try and change that, but seems like he just had the wrong style for the team.

Merricks has been around the team a long time and knows them well. Her first two matches in charge are basically free hits and nothing much should be read into them if we lose as they are against Chelsea and Man City, so will be interesting to see how she organises them and whether she is given the task of keeping us up of they bring someone else in.

Badger Boy

Mr Badger
Jan 28, 2016