Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Help] Coaching football for the first time...help!

Popeye

I Don't Exercise
Nov 12, 2021
North Carolina USA
Hello friends.

As some of you may know(I think I have said it on here lol) I am a teacher at a middle school and they have been struggling to find someone to coach the girls and boys soccer(football lol) teams. Well I finally said heck with it and told them Friday I would do it even though have never coached it before. I just didn't want these kids to be upset and not have a season because they could not find anyone willing to coach them.

Anyway, I know a bit about the sport due to watching us and just in general, but I know coaching it is a whole other thing.

Any tips for those who have done so? Practice suggestions?Anything else I need to know?Good books or websites to get advice from?

Looking forward to it! First practice is this upcoming Wednesday!

Thanks much! :thumbsup:

BadFish

Huge Member
Oct 19, 2003
Hello friends.

As some of you may know(I think I have said it on here lol) I am a teacher at a middle school and they have been struggling to find someone to coach the girls and boys soccer(football lol) teams. Well I finally said heck with it and told them Friday I would do it even though have never coached it before. I just didn't want these kids to be upset and not have a season because they could not find anyone willing to coach them.

Anyway, I know a bit about the sport due to watching us and just in general, but I know coaching it is a whole other thing.

Any tips for those who have done so? Practice suggestions?Anything else I need to know?Good books or websites to get advice from?

I've done a bit of coaching and a couple of philosophies i really like were:

a: Give the kids as many touches of the ball during training - try to avoid them lining up to do stuff. Have lots of balls so they can all have one - or one between two.