Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Misc] Claiming on house insurance - should we?

Couldn't Be Hyypia

We've come a long long way together
NSC Patron
Nov 12, 2006
Near Dorchester, Dorset
Our roof leaked over Christmas. Water was coming through the ceiling. The upshot is that we'll need c. £5k of repairs.

My wife thinks we should put in an insurance claim. I think they'll rake it all back in increased premiums and penalise us for the rest of our lives (this is my belief about all insurance for some reason).

Does anyone on NSC know what really happens? It's a lot of dough, and presumably why I've been paying for instance for 35 years.

Your advice, as ever, much appreciated.

timbha

Jul 5, 2003
Sussex
Insurance coy will probably say roof damage is wear and tear

Our roof leaked over Christmas. Water was coming through the ceiling. The upshot is that we'll need c. £5k of repairs.

My wife thinks we should put in an insurance claim. I think they'll rake it all back in increased premiums and penalise us for the rest of our lives (this is my belief about all insurance for some reason).

Does anyone on NSC know what really happens? It's a lot of dough, and presumably why I've been paying for instance for 35 years.

If it was me I would claim. Never a good time for it to happen, least of all at Christmas.

PILTDOWN MAN

NSC Patron
Sep 15, 2004
Hurst Green
If you’re not going to claim why bother having it

beorhthelm

A. Virgo, Football Genius
Jul 21, 2003
this is rather the purpose of insurance. yes, there will be increase premiums though only moderatly in my experience, and you can go elsewhere if think they're taking the piss.

PILTDOWN MAN

NSC Patron
Sep 15, 2004
Hurst Green

ManOfSussex

We wunt be druv
Apr 11, 2016
Rape of Hastings, Sussex
Sound like a doctor