Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Finance] What to do with a company (Spanish) that won't pay an invoice plus more.

shingle

Jan 18, 2004
Lewes
As some of you may know I am an ageing photographer. In the past I was commissioned often, but since the pandemic started work has dropped off somewhat.

However, over the years I have built up a significant catalogue of images taken in the UK and also worldwide. These images are placed with several stock agencies, one in the UK and the other in Spain. For those that don't know how it works, 'the stock agency' licenses the images to newspapers, books, magasines, websites etc and the royalties are split 50/50 or 40/60.

The Uk agency is great, pays up when monies are cleared and always on time. I must add we're not talking huge sums here, but hey, everything received these days is very welcome.

Now, the Spanish one has gone from being previously reliable, with a very respected owner to nothing, no invoices paid, no communications and some sales I believe, are not being reported not just to me but other photographers too. I have an invoice that has been outstanding for a year now, the owner has a blog and in it he blames staff shortages/staff leaving, eu working practices, outdated and convoluted payment processes that are being resolved etc,etc. The company is still trading and I believe my images are selling but are not being reported and 100% of the sales are going straight to the company.

In the Uk, it would be easily dealt with by way of the small claims court, but as this company is Spanish and based in Spain there seems little recourse. Some photographers have requested their 'collections' be removed from the website, but are ignored, there are many international photographers in the same boat and many of us are choosing to stay silent in the hope that things are resolved and we will eventually get paid.