Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Milton Keynes?

Camicus

Or you could look at somewhere like Flitwick, Ampthill or surrounding villages. About a 20 minute drive from MK and a train direct from Flitwick to Brighton.

Amptill and Flitwick really are shitholes in fact they are the pimple of the arse of the country Bedfordshuire towns are awful

West Hoathly Seagull

Honorary Ruffian
Aug 26, 2003
Sharpthorne/SW11
I went to university in Buckingham, so MK was my local town for shopping other than Buckingham, which had some good independent shops, but was a bit of a Lewes: you needed to go to MK for anything else, as with Brighton in Lewes's case. I'm biased: I did a Masters degree, which I finished this summer, again with Buckingham, though based in London. On the few occasions I visited, I felt homesick for the town. As other posters have said, you have no need to live in Milton Keynes, as you will never be much of a drive away if you choose one of the nearby villages or towns. Other than Buckingham, if you've got a decent budget, I'd go for Thornborough, midway between Buckingham and Bletchley, and with a superb dining pub, the Lone Tree. If you want to live in Milton Keynes, though, I'd avoid the local authority estates, which range from the okay, through to rather rough. In the former category I'd place Oldbrook and some of the northern estates like Galley Hill and Heelands, plus the outskirts of Bletchley - Denbigh, Whaddon, etc. In the latter category, any of the estates in the Woughton ward, and most of those in the Campbell Park ward. The modern estates are fine, just not very interesting unless you're into modern housing.

Bedsex

not my real name
Jan 29, 2009
Flitwick
Amptill and Flitwick really are shitholes in fact they are the pimple of the arse of the country Bedfordshuire towns are awful