[Albion] Albion™

BBassic

I changed this.
Jul 28, 2011

Billy the Fish

Technocrat
Oct 18, 2005
Haywards Heath
How are writers and historians taking the news? Not well. Author Peter Ackroyd said: “Albion is one of the most ancient names for Britain and cannot be owned.”

I’m no legal expert, but he appears to be wrong there. Indeed. Perfidious Albion 1, Classicists 0.

:lolol:

Superphil

Dismember
Jul 7, 2003
In a pile of football shirts
Can we trademark Barber Out™ before he does? :shrug:

Official Old Man

Uckfield Seagull
Aug 27, 2011
Brighton
Surely they can only secure the word Albion when used in any way, shape or form in association with the football club.
i.e. a scarf that states ALBION in blue & white colours could be illegal whilst the Albion Cafe or Albion Scaffolders with a red & white logo could not be illegal.

beorhthelm

A. Virgo, Football Genius
Jul 21, 2003
trademarks are only applicable to an area of trade granted for, not blanket use of the word. so this would only be for sport related context, not preventing use in poetry and history contexts. shame two leading papers couldnt be bothered with such detail.

though seems pointless, as unless they intend to go off and procescute Burton and other "Albion" clubs, they'll lose the trademark as they have to be enforced to be maintained. and thats not a good look, hounding lower league clubs for their name.

Hamilton

NSC Patreon
Jul 7, 2003
Brighton
Brighton and West Brom have secured the rights to the name which was used as far back as the sixth century – and historians are not taking the news well

https://www.theguardian.com/footbal...ain-really-been-trademarked-by-football-clubs

Or for a less Q&A piece of coverage:

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/20...football-teams-trademark-oldest-name-british/

Interesting bit of news I think.

What about poor Burton, Rovers and Stirling?

Are they now Burton Town, AFC Rovers and Stirling United?*

EDIT: *apologies - now seen the other witty responses.