Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Offers] O/T help with students studying ancient history/drama or Romans/Greeks

scamander

Aug 9, 2011
Hi all,

Bit of an odd one here so bear with me. My workplace has been freeing up days for volunteering so I thought I'd put the word out here. For several years I have visited Hertford Juniors and helped out on the Roman week for the Year 3s (I'm the chap in Roman armour who does a talk). A few years ago I also took a day off and did the same at Bevendean. If you did the Rise Hero run and saw a bloke walking in Roman armour that was me (and extra credit if you shouted out a quote from Life of Brian at me!).

The thing is I have also done talks for students sitting their A Levels in Greek theatre(I did this at Worthing College for the drama class who always had a question about Greek theatre). So I have worked with all ages and across a number of topics.

My background is a degree and MA in Classical Civilisation, so I can help out at schools or colleges which have topics on Greece and Rome and where teachers might welcome a speaker or someone to support on a topic. I podcast and write on the topics (my website is ancientblogger.com) so I like to think I can be useful if you have someone at a college or school and their teacher/class could do with some support.

Everything I do is free, so I wouldn't charge, though may need a lift if I'm in full Roman kit. In any case if you think the above is relevant and a school or class could do with some extra help feel free to mention me or get in touch here.

Btw - I'm also happy to help out with any revision or homework (with the obvious caveat of the parent being the main point of contact - my o/h was a teacher so well aware of safeguarding).

Anyway, appreciate the above might seem bizarre, but perhaps it might be of some help somewhere.

cheers
Neil

Eric the meek

Fiveways Wilf
NSC Patron
Aug 24, 2020
Hi all,