Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Brighton] Brighton Christmas Market/Festival

Official Old Man

Uckfield Seagull
Aug 27, 2011
Brighton
For the first time in a while Brighton has gone in big time with a Christmas Market & Fun Fair & Entertainment Tent.
As someone who enjoys a good Xmas Market I was looking forward to this one. Also, as a local trader, I was offered a small stall at a discount price of £7000 for 30 days trading (electric and water extra).
I knew at that price there was no way they would get the expected 150 units filled as promised. I spoke with the organisers and, without wishing to tell them what to do, said that this could be the biggest and best in the south. Large area (Valley Gardens) with the church at the end and lots of scope for plenty of stalls. But they really needed to splash the cash and start off on day one with the promised big wow factor. All the trees lit up throughout the gardens, lots of stalls all lit up with colourful garlands and lights and a Christmas atmosphere throughout the area.
Instead we've got a handful of stalls with a few white lights and the usual rip off prices. Where is the investment in the area with colour and lights? No. Instead we're told it's the 5th best market in the land based on a web site who never visited the market and based their opinion on what was promised.
Yes, it may be very busy right now but of those that go, how many will return again this year and how many will make the trip in 2022? My guess is very few. An opportunity lost by someone who should have invested rather than take the profit.

If you've been, thoughts please.

Super Steve Earle

Feb 23, 2009
North of Brighton
For the first time in a while Brighton has gone in big time with a Christmas Market & Fun Fair & Entertainment Tent.