Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Albion] Zonal Marking at Corners

Mayonaise

May 25, 2014
Haywards Heath
We seem to like Zonal marking at corner but is it really working for us?

I am no expert of this but do know that in Dunk, Duffy and Webster, we have three of the best defenders in the PL when it comes to the arial battles. It doesn't make a lot of sense to me then that we just stand still and try to compete from a standing position against attackers having a run up.

I am happy for somebody to explain the theories of Zonal marking and what we should be doing better as this isn't working for us IMHO :shrug:

beorhthelm

A. Virgo, Football Genius
Jul 21, 2003
never seems to work, or rather when opposition scores it was obvious the zones didnt work. it gives advantage to the attacker. but coaches keep using it so there must be some technical advantages i dont understand.

Icy Gull

Back on the rollercoaster
Jul 5, 2003
TB could do worse than turn to NSC for the next coach when Potter leaves :wink:

Farehamseagull

Solly March Fan Club
Nov 22, 2007
Sarisbury Green, Southampton
We seem to like Zonal marking at corner but is it really working for us?

I am no expert of this but do know that in Dunk, Duffy and Webster, we have three of the best defenders in the PL when it comes to the arial battles. It doesn't make a lot of sense to me then that we just stand still and try to compete from a standing position against attackers having a run up.

I am happy for somebody to explain the theories of Zonal marking and what we should be doing better as this isn't working for us IMHO :shrug:

Who says it isn’t working for us?

The goal yesterday should have been disallowed and last season we conceded the 9th most from set pieces in the PL, less than Man Utd, Leicester and the same as Liverpool. And that despite having Ryan for the first few months of last season. We were clearly better at defending set pieces once Sanchez was a regular.