Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Help] Central Heating Advice

Dorset Seagull

Once Dolphin, Now Seagull
Am considering getting a new boiler and have had a quote from British Gas. However the wife has seen that gas boilers will no longer be fitted in about 5 years time because of new systems that will be used?? Also we have a boiler and hot water tank so would a combi boiler be a better bet to get rid of the expense of a possible new tank at some point. I am a complete novice when it comes to anything to do with central heating etc so any advice from the great and the good would be much appreciated

Nathan

Jan 8, 2010
I think it is 'new boilers will not be fitted into new builds' in 5 years time. We will be with gas boilers for a long time still, and parts will not be a problem for now.

Weststander

NSC Patron
Aug 25, 2011
Withdean area
A Worcester or Vaillant gas combi boiler. Far more efficient and cheaper to run than older boilers, the two most reliable brands.

They won’t be phased out. For better or worse, mains gas will be our heating fuel for many years to come.

Springal

Feb 12, 2005
GOSBTS
I'm sure you can do better than going with British Gas to from a new boiler install perspective

Wrong-Direction

Mar 10, 2013
A Worcester or Vaillant gas combi boiler. Far more efficient and cheaper to run than older boilers, the two most reliable brands.

They won’t be phased out. For better or worse, mains gas will be our heating fuel for many years to come.
This

Sent from my SM-A715F using Tapatalk

Official Old Man

Uckfield Seagull
Aug 27, 2011
Brighton
Not sure about boilers so slightly off topic. I've a smart thermostat (Tado) and works a treat. Only operates when we're at home so no heating a house if we're late getting back. Plenty on the market. This and a new boiler a few years back knocked £100's off our bills.

Dick Head

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Jan 3, 2010
Quaxxann
Ask Big Sam.

_102846518_hi048499052.jpg

Westdene Seagull