Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Help] Silicosis in construction

smeariestbat

May 5, 2012
Off topic:
Been reading recently about a lot of tradies working with artificial stone being diagnosed with silicosis.

My concern primarily is that i worked as a landscaper for 7 years between 2004-2011, dry cutting stone and pavers outside whilst only wearing a paper dust mask, which i now know is useless. There wasnt a lot of cutting comparatively, as we did mainly ponds. I just wondered what other tradies experience was with silicosis and exposure to it during the job. I know now best practice is to wet cut/use a vacuum, but i was a young apprentice and did what i was told.

smeariestbat

May 5, 2012
Tradies- Tradespeople- carpenters, plasterers, construction workers etc

maresfield seagull

May 23, 2006
It’s a major concern that in time ,they predict will as bad if not worse than the asbestosis issues that are still ongoing Have a look at the HSE website there should be some info there that might help The changes in best practice firstly implemented by the major contractors take time to filter down and get adopted by the smaller concerns to one man bands For example face fitted masks are standard procedure FFP3 or even full respirators task dependent Removal from site if not compliant
Rather than a wafer thin FFP1 type you describe Rightly as Not fit for purpose
Damping down areas before sweeping up to minimise dust clouds Or even hoovering up rather than sweeping is becoming the norm

smeariestbat

May 5, 2012