Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Brighton] Hove Recycling/Tip Old Shoreham Road

Falmer Wizard

Jun 23, 2020
Has anybody visited it lately, tried three weeks ago however the council were putting in a temporary cycling lane and would only allow a few to access the site,tried again two weeks ago progressed to the short access road but held for 40 mins whilst heavy vehicles were being dealt with, you could not turn round and leave because staff had arranged tight distance between queuing cars.
What is the present situation?

CHAPPERS

DISCO SPENG
Jul 5, 2003
Went last week just after a heavy rain shower and had a 5 minute wait. When we left the queue was back to the hour wait sign. I’m a bit of a pro you see, it’s all about timing. They seem to be operating at maybe 40% capacity, if that.

Chicken Run

Member Since Jul 2003
NSC Patron
Jul 17, 2003
Valley of Hangleton
Has anybody visited it lately, tried three weeks ago however the council were putting in a temporary cycling lane and would only allow a few to access the site,tried again two weeks ago progressed to the short access road but held for 40 mins whilst heavy vehicles were being dealt with, you could not turn round and leave because staff had arranged tight distance between queuing cars.
What is the present situation?

Pretty similar, they close the temp gates at the OSR entrance once the line of cars extends to the junction and you can’t stop at that point

surrey jim

Not in Surrey
Aug 2, 2005
Bevendean
Cant comment on Hove, but I went to the site on Wilson Avenue on Thursday morning around 10am, waved straight in with no queue briefly spoke to one of the guys working there who said after a bonkers two days when they re-opened its gone very quiet.

Westdene Seagull

aka Cap'n Carl Firecrotch
NSC Patron
Oct 27, 2003
The arse end of Hangleton