Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Misc] Mid-lift career change - anyone done it?

Jan 26, 2015
Berkshire
Hello. Wondering if anyone has experiences they can share of changing careers.
I've been a project manager for the last 20 years and am now heartily sick of it. I can no longer generate any level of interest in either the process or end result of the projects I'm working on. I recently moved to a new job in a different technology hoping that would pep me up but it hasn't.
The prospect of another 20 years in this type of role drives me to despair but I don't really know how feasible it is to change at this point in my life. I don't have any alternative career path that exccites me. I would like to study more and am planning on starting a part-time MA but that isn't likely to set me on a new path.

I'd be interested to know what others have done in similar situations. Anyone made the change? If so, what was the result? Anyone stuck with a job they hated and it got better?

Thanks!

Eeyore

Colonel Hee-Haw of Queen's Park
NSC Patron
Apr 5, 2014
I'd like to come from a different angle and say that not having the drive to do so has caused me to look back with deep regret. Let that be your inspiration.

Fignon's Ponytail

Jun 29, 2012
On the Beach
Not personally...I've always been in the design field one way or another, but my work-mates wife has just given up a long career in stage lighting / show production etc to join the Police force.
Been hard work for her through all the initial interviews / months of training etc, but she goes out on the beat for the first time next week....& is loving the career change shes made.

beorhthelm

A. Virgo, Football Genius
Jul 21, 2003
i started by getting a good lifting belt, then looked for a better speelcheaker.

Gwylan

Jul 5, 2003
Uffern