Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Football] Legal Question

Neil

Eastie
Aug 27, 2010
Langney
My sons house has some Council trees that overhang his garden and due to the high gusts tonight has had a large branch snap off and crash through one of his outbuildings.
Can he make a claim from Wealden District Council for the damage or is it called act of god

Titanic

Super Moderator
Helpful Moderator
Jul 5, 2003
West Sussex
My sons house has some Council trees that overhang his garden and due to the high gusts tonight has had a large branch snap off and crash through one of his outbuildings.
Can he make a claim from Wealden District Council for the damage or is it called act of god

Probably easiest just to call the council in the morning, and find out how they can help him?

I am not a lawyer... but for what it is worth, I would think they have a duty of care to make sure their trees are safe (if indeed the tree is theirs!).

edit: This might be helpful:

https://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profile?pid=1022

AmexRuislip

Trainee Spy 🕵️‍♂️
Feb 2, 2014
Ruislip

David Icke is your man :thumbsup:

Springal

Feb 12, 2005
GOSBTS
Does home insurance not cover you ?

Coldeanseagull

Opinionated
Mar 13, 2013
Coldean
If I remember, insurance claims can't be dismissed because of this loophole 'act of mythical beings interference'. As stated, contact the council

blue-shifted

Banned
Feb 20, 2004
a galaxy far far away
Best to sue the council for everything they've got.

(then complain the streets aren't as tidy as they used to be even though the council tax has gone up)

Springal

Feb 12, 2005
GOSBTS

Creaky

Mar 26, 2013
Hookwood - Nr Horley
During the “Great Storm of ‘87 one of our trees blew down and smashed the roof of our neighbours house. Their solicitor threatened legal action but eventually they conceded the damage was “an act of God” as no reasonable person could have foreseen the tree being blown down as it was healthy.