Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Technology] Laptop advice please

upthealbion1970

bring on the trumpets....
NSC Patron
Jan 22, 2009
Woodingdean
My step daughter wants a laptop of some description.

She’s 13 next month, uses Facebook, Tik Tok, YouTube etc and will need to do some schoolwork on it.

We don’t want to spend more than £300 on it if possible, neither I or my Mrs have any idea where to start....

Over to you NSC what do you recommend?

Thanks [emoji1303]

SeagullinExile

Sep 10, 2010
London
Lenovo are very good. I only ever use them now.

Dick Head

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Jan 3, 2010
Quaxxann
Chromebook.

SeagullinExile

Sep 10, 2010
London
I'm no expert! All I know is that I've never had any issues in 8 years of using Lenovo. As for spec? Someone with more knowledge would be better help! Sorry.

Superseagull

Jul 8, 2003
You can get some pretty decent second hand used Lenovo’s for £300. Loads of big companies have contracts with Lenovo which means there are loads of 2 year old ones in good condition that get sold off after being returned from companies as part of there contracts. They are not the prettiest looking laptops but great value for money.

Official Old Man

Uckfield Seagull
Aug 27, 2011
Brighton
I've only ever used Lenovo. Served me well. On my second in 15 or so years and don't buy the top of the range.
But technical question.
Many now only have SSD and 128 GB at that. What happened to the old style 1TB hard drive? Do you have to store everything 'in the cloud' and if so, what happens if you take your portable lap top out with no internet?

Shropshire Seagull

Nov 5, 2004
Telford
I recently installed 5 new laptops for Shropshire Cricket Board - their spec criteria was:
largest screen size = 15.6"
Decent performance = Intel i5 with 8Gb RAM
Adequate storage = 256Gb
Decent battery life whilst away from mains power = SSD disk drive consumes a lot less power and is very fast to boot up
Having a DVD/CD was deemed not mandatory