Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Curious to compare the UK vs Australian (Victorian) lock down

nickjhs

NSC Patreon
Apr 9, 2017
Ballarat, Australia
So here in Victoria we are being told not to leave the house unless it is essential, the schools are closed, funerals are limited to 10 mourners, wedding to five people (the couple, two witnesses and the celebrant) Then in the next sentence we are told if you still have a job, no matter what it is, then that job is deemed essential and you must go to work if you cannot work from home. I am a sole trader and drive around a bit and while there is less traffic on the roads they are far from deserted. The bottle shops (off licences) are busy, the hardware stores are busy, curiously the madness in the supermarkets has subsided. I guess the twits have filled all the spare cupboards and bedrooms with toilet paper, rice and pasta and the chest freezers cannot take another frozen pizza or pie. So unless you scratch the surface the town I live in resembles something like a normal sunday, people walking, running, going to the shops etc. Whereas I would have expected it to be more like Christmas morning, quite with the very occasional car going past.

Unfortunately my father in law died on Wednesday (not covid), and this really brought home how devastating the restrictions are, can't visit each other, can't properly support his wife, having to work out who will attend the funeral etc.

So just curious if on the surface, driving along, walking, you get the same impression?

Birdie Boy

Jun 17, 2011
In Brighton surrounding area, it is definitely quieter than normal but by the sounds of it, it is not the same up north. I'm temporarily doing a delivery job early to late evenings. The roads are busier than I would expect up until around 6-7 o'clock. Around 9 onwards it is like what it would be like driving around at 2am. I did so a Sunday day shift last weekend and it was pretty busy on the roads.