Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Help] BT Openreach scam

Bulldog

Sep 25, 2010
Just a heads up guys

Scammers are calling claiming to be from BT Operreach. They claim to be trying to improve your internet speed. If you fall for this, they want you to allow them to take control of your PC/Laptop.

While they are busy checking your PC, they are also busy stealing your bank account details.

Beware, I have had 3 calls in 2 days.

paul-brighton

Jun 12, 2011
Sompting
Just a heads up guys

Scammers are calling claiming to be from BT Operreach. They claim to be trying to improve your internet speed. If you fall for this, they want you to allow them to take control of your PC/Laptop.

While they are busy checking your PC, they are also busy stealing your bank account details.

I work in the phone / internet industry and this scam has been going on for 2 years or so. Almost exclusively the call will come from a foreign sounding caller. Caller ID, if you have it, will show a UK number. Calling that number will result in no connection as it does not actually exist.

If you do want to know how fast you internet can go (excluding Virgin media) then punch your details into https://www.dslchecker.bt.com/

Greg Bobkin

Silver Seagull
May 22, 2012

A1X

NSC Patron
Sep 1, 2017
Deepest, darkest Sussex
As a general rule, no company or bank will ever ring you about anything, ever.

Although my bank did ring me to follow up a complaint I sent them and then got ever so indignant when I refused to answer their security questions because I had no means of knowing they were who they said they were.

Weststander

NSC Patron
Aug 25, 2011
Withdean area
Get these calls frequently, Yorkshire accents or from the Indian subcontinent.

I go for the aggressive response (after working out they're liars), to a long-winded goose chase to waste their time.