Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Football] Sussex Sunday League Football 80s to Today

Taybha

Whalewhine
Oct 8, 2008
Uwantsumorwat
Just wondering if I ever played with or against anyone from NSC without ever knowing that our paths have already crossed before this virtual life.

I started playing Sundays and Wednesdays around the age of 19, pretty low standard I think the highest I ever got in a team was Division 8 of 13 in the Sunday league.

So I think from memory as its a long time ago I played for Brighton Hospitals, Post Office Sunday and The Dockers, on Wednesdays Royal Mail Brighton.

I would guesstimate I played from 1981 until 1997 then just the odd ringer turn out after that.

So who did you play for in days gone by?

bobbysmith01

Feb 6, 2015
AFC George premier champions about 3 years on the trot In the late 80’s, plus Sunday senior cup winners 4 years in a row.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

milliepops

Nov 8, 2011
at home
I played for Knowles for about 8 seasons until I retired in 2012.
Our home games were played at Palatine Park in Worthing.
Used to be 10+ divisions back then as well.

Paul Reids Sock

Nov 3, 2004
Paul Reids boot
Played one Friendly game for the Dinkum in Polegate.

I was then signed up as was planning to visit my Dad there (travelling from Reading) every weekend. It never happened.

Must have been about 2008

Harry Wilson's tackle

Harry Wilson's Tackle
NSC Patron
Oct 8, 2003
Faversham
Edit: scrub that. I went completely off topic. Must be the altitude :ffsparr:

jessiejames

Never late in a V8
Jan 20, 2009
Brighton, United Kingdom
Market Traders on a Wednesday. Won Morris cup final played at Whitehawk, won league 2 same year. Runners up in final year after which was played at the Goldstone, but won league 1. This was late 80's early 90's. Played for Golden Cannon on Sundays for 4 years.

One Teddy Maybank

NSC Patron
Aug 4, 2006
Worthing