Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[News] TSB.........Again

WATFORD zero

NSC Patreon
Jul 10, 2003
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-50514707

Looks like another catastrophic IT error, not good

Telling sentence, and looks like nothing has changed from when I worked for a couple of the banks, albeit 25+ years ago

An independent report into the incident said the bank's board lacked "common sense" as it prepared to switch customers on to a new IT system

There was always this idea that Technology was 'magical', they didn't understand it, and the basic rules of common sense therefor didn't apply :facepalm:

Milano

Aug 15, 2012
Sussex but not by the sea
I work in IT in a very large bank.
Since 2008 their ‘profits’ have been achieved by slashing costs. The problem is that all modern banks are 100% reliant on IT now, their systems are VERY complex, so cutting skilled staff to the bone is eventually going to result in this type of situation, or as is now more common offshoring 25+ years of experience to India to a body who has completed IT 101 is a disaster waiting to happen. It will get worse.

Stat Brother

NSC Patreon
Jul 11, 2003
West west west Sussex
I expected this to be a thread about the serial NSC misery, telling us we’re going down.
That'll be tomorrow evening.
It'll be nice to get some input from Spence, as well. :facepalm:

Postman Pat

Jul 24, 2007
Coldean
Since 2008 their ‘profits’ have been achieved by slashing costs. The problem is that all modern banks are 100% reliant on IT now, their systems are VERY complex, so cutting skilled staff to the bone is eventually going to result in this type of situation, or as is now more common offshoring 25+ years of experience to India to a body who has completed IT 101 is a disaster waiting to happen. It will get worse.

I work in an IT Company that deal with a lot of airlines. What is very clear with most of these companies is that they don't understand their own organisation.