Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Misc] Broadband help

um bongo molongo

Jul 26, 2004
Battersea
Seeking the collective wisdom of NSC. I currently have Sky broadband plus sky Q. I like sky Q, but the broadband is absolute gubbins. I’ve spent about 6 hours on various calls with them getting me to switch things on and off again, with the net result being it’s worse than before I called up. The WiFi is deathly slow. I’m considering switching to Virgin as on the face of it, the WiFi looks faster. So, NSC, should I switch, and if I do, should I switch to Virgin TV also or keep Sky and run it on Virgin’s broadband?

Shropshire Seagull

Nov 5, 2004
Telford
Virgin uses its own cable network, every other BB provider uses BT Openreach cabling to connect from your house to the nearest BT exchange.
I have no experience of Sky as an ISP but recently switched from Sky TV with EE BB to Virgin

The component that can make all the difference is the router - the bit that connects your devices to your network [Openreach / Virgin]

Have you run a speed test to see what performance you're currently getting?

GOM

living vicariously
Aug 8, 2005
Leeds - but not the dirty bit
Use the My Sky app and run a diagnostic from the fix a problem tab at the bottom right. Occasionally, very occasionally my wifi seems to be running very slowly first thing in the morning. I run a test and it tells me all is well and miraculously my wifi is up to full speed again !

Westdene Seagull

aka Cap'n Carl Firecrotch
NSC Patron
Oct 27, 2003
The arse end of Hangleton
This, but use a wired connection to run the speedtest, not wifi.

Generally agree with wired for testing but this week I ran a test over wireless on my VM 100Mb circuit and was getting 105Mb download and 9.5Mb upload so dread to think what it would have been wired !

Shropshire Seagull

Nov 5, 2004
Telford
This may [or may not] help.