Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Albion] Neil Maupay - has he had the credit he deserves yet?

Couldn't Be Hyypia

We've come a long long way together
NSC Patron
Nov 12, 2006
Near Dorchester, Dorset
I know he is getting recognition for his goals but I wonder if we're missing some of the other things he contributes to the team? I'm no tactical expert, and I know we have some people on here who study these things, so I'd love to know if (as I suspect) he is contributing far more than just goals?

Any thoughts?

(Neal of course - apols)

Bry Nylon

Test your smoke alarm
Helpful Moderator
Jul 21, 2003
Playing snooker
I know he is getting recognition for his goals but I wonder if we're missing some of the other things he contributes to the team? I'm no tactical expert, and I know we have some people on here who study these things, so I'd love to know if (as I suspect) he is contributing far more than just goals?

Any thoughts?

I googled his 'highlights reel' but all I got was footage of him doing his hair. :shrug:

Last edited:

Dick Swiveller

Sep 9, 2011

Any thoughts?
Looks a lot more effective with a similar player alongside him. More isolated when he is on his own as defenders can shut him down but the pace and movement of two small players puts doubt in their minds. If we could ever get Connolly, Maupay and Trossard in the same team, defenders could be having nightmares for weeks. Problem is that you also need supply for them to work so getting all 3 together plus Gross or Mooy might be a stretch. But not having to worry that we have strikers under 6ft is very nice.

Talking of Maupay, do we have the definitive pronunciation? I have heard mo-pay, mo-pie, more-pay and more-pie. And I am guessing Warren goes with Moppy. But which one is it?

Stato

Dec 21, 2011