Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Food] Flapjack

Normal Rob

Jul 8, 2003
Somerset
Clearly the winner when it come to sticky cake/biscuits. But what is the perfect recipe please?

Personally i favour a slight burn on the outside, chewy consistency but with a soft middle. Oh, and always take the corner piece.

flapjacks.jpg

Last edited:

Shropshire Seagull

Nov 5, 2004
Telford
I've been eating cricket teas for over 50 years, as both a player and a coach.
For the last 20 I have avoided all cake in an impossible challenge to minimise waistline enlargement.
However, FLAPJACK cannot be ignored and, when prepared correctly, if the most delicious and enjoyable cricket-tea treat.
Must be firm enough to hold its shape, soft to the nibble and tasty.

Just like a decent pair of boobs I guess ....

Postman Pat

Jul 24, 2007
Coldean
I've been eating cricket teas for over 50 years, as both a player and a coach.
For the last 20 I have avoided all cake in an impossible challenge to minimise waistline enlargement.
However, FLAPJACK cannot be ignored and, when prepared correctly, if the most delicious and enjoyable cricket-tea treat.
Must be firm enough to hold its shape, soft to the nibble and tasty.

Just like a decent pair of boobs I guess ....

Jevington scones and jam took a lot of beating

highflyer

Jan 21, 2016
No fruit. Ever.
They do not belong in Flapjack.
And no chocolate either. Oats, sugar, butter. A perfect combination if done well. End of.

Raleigh Chopper

Sep 1, 2011
Plymouth
No fruit. Ever.
They do not belong in Flapjack.
And no chocolate either. Oats, sugar, butter. A perfect combination if done well. End of.

Agreed but I put honey or maple syrup in mine, but you have to be careful in the baking as it can make them go hard especially on the outside.
I like them just right on the outside but must be soft and chewy on the inside.

Johnny RoastBeef

These aren't the players you're looking for.
Jan 11, 2016
500g oats