Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Technology] Oculus Go / Quest 2

dingodan

Feb 16, 2011
I've never tried VR before, thinking of picking up one of these as my first venture into VR.

I know it has been designed with some trade offs to balance cost vs tech and to allow it to be a standalone device.

Anyone tried it? Is it any good? Worth getting?

Thanks.

Juan Albion

Chicken Sniffer 3rd Class
I got one for myself at Christmas. I previously used the Samsung Gear VR. It is a HUGE improvement to not have to put your phone in the headset. For that alone, it's a good buy. Obviously there are better out there for more money but it is a decent compromise.

Frutos

Helpful Moderator
NSC Patron
May 3, 2006
Northumberland
I've got one - it's good for what it is, but bear in mind it is limited by being standalone rather than tethered to a computer.

The games selection isn't bad, but rather basic compared to what's available for the Rift and Rift S. The Go is really best suited for videos and such in VR rather than as a real gaming platform.

dingodan

Feb 16, 2011
I've got one - it's good for what it is, but bear in mind it is limited by being standalone rather than tethered to a computer.

The games selection isn't bad, but rather basic compared to what's available for the Rift and Rift S. The Go is really best suited for videos and such in VR rather than as a real gaming platform.

Yeah that's what I gathered. I don't have a beast PC and I can't justify £1.5k+ spend to buy get one + a Rift. I think the fact that it's standalone is pretty neat, it's one of the reasons I'm quite tempted.

Is it actually comfortable to watch a movie or youtube on a screen so close to your face? Also have you tried any 3D movies? The idea of that I find quite exciting too, assuming it's actually a good experience.

Frutos

Helpful Moderator
NSC Patron
May 3, 2006
Northumberland