Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Football] Soccer's Unspoken Problem

Albion 4ever

Feb 26, 2009
A rather depressing read. I believe that there should be neutral doctors at every ground who would check out head injuries independently from club doctors and physios and their decision is final.
Obviously would not work at conference level and below, but at the highest level it should be in place.

Gwylan

Jul 5, 2003
Uffern
A rather depressing read. I believe that there should be neutral doctors at every ground who would check out head injuries independently from club doctors and physios and their decision is final.
Obviously would not work at conference level and below, but at the highest level it should be in place.

I'm currently studying my level 2 coaching certificate in rugby and there's a mandatory module on concussion. The advice is that for any suspected concussion, get the player off the field immediately. If there's no doctor there, then get the player checked out ASAP, the feeling is that it's better to be safe than sorry. Clearly, at professional level there are doctors who can do an immediate HIA but that's not an option at most games, so just pull the player off.

studio150

Jul 30, 2011
On the Border
A well written and informative article.

As is mentioned above, a neutral doctor would remove any pressure on the player who has suffered concussion to stay on the field. Also if a player suffers concussion than there should be an additional substitute permitted again to ensure the player is removed from play.

Then the period of rest from both games and practice needs to be mandatory and set at a level that the medical profession set, with no exceptions.

RandyWanger

Je suis rôti de boeuf
Mar 14, 2013
Done a Frexit, now in London