Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Help] Advice required - Dating a “Lateral thinker”

Southern Scouse

Jul 21, 2011
Ok, I just wondered if anyone here, being the font of all knowledge, could offer some help either as a “ Lateral thinker” or someone who has a partner who is.
This is not just the odd occasion, this is about someone who could be autistic or has Asperger’s. I have no knowledge of this field at all. After a divorce, this is my first proper relationship in two years, and this is very important to me. Problem is, we get along as though we have been together for years, but she questions everything and takes everything literally. I made a mistake of getting the dates wrong over something that happened 35 years ago... and I had to spend hours convincing her it was a mistake. She has a near photographic memory and seems to check things I have said in the past. There is no malice, but it’s difficult to be thinking about everything you are going to say, all the time.
I’ve done some research and this constant literal thinking could be related to autism/ Aspergers. This lady is a very intelligent, success person...
So if anyone has any similar experience they’d like to share let me know on here or PM me, it’s much appreciated.

timco

Jul 5, 2003
Birmingham
I made a mistake of getting the dates wrong over something that happened 35 years ago... and I had to spend hours convincing her it was a mistake. She has a near photographic memory and seems to check things I have said in the past. There is no malice, but it’s difficult to be thinking about everything you are going to say, all the time..

Sounds like any relationship with any female ever too me!

Bean

Feb 13, 2010
Hove
Get rid

Blue Valkyrie

Not seen such Bravery!
Sep 1, 2012
Valhalla
Ok, I just wondered if anyone here, being the font of all knowledge, could offer some help either as a “ Lateral thinker” or someone who has a partner who is.