Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Help] Need a little help please from the NSC collective.please....

spongy

Aug 7, 2011
Burgess Hill
As some may be aware I'm studying for an HNC manufacturing engineering and have just started the Materials Unit.

As one part of an assignment I have to name lots of components used in the manufacture of modern automobiles. I also have to state the exact material, I can't just say "steel" or "aluminium" i need to also state the material properties and why it is used.

The metallic ones have been a doddle but I'm struggling with ceramics. I need to discuss 4 ceramic materials. I have 3 but I'm stuck on a 4th!

I have so far.....

Brake discs - silicon carbide reinforced with carbon fibre
Engine valves - Yttria stabilised Zirconia
Spark plugs - aluminium oxide (alumina) ceramic

I'm struggling like hell to find a 4th. Ive now spent days on the internet in the evenings and am drawing a blank. Does anyone have any kind of idea or is there by some miracle a Materials Engineer reading this that could point me in the right direction?

Im suffering a bit of 'can't see the woods for the trees' or some such quote and could do with a nudge in a different direction but can't find it.

It would be very much appreciated thanks!

Wrong-Direction

Mar 10, 2013
Belfast sink

Sent from my SM-A310F using Tapatalk

FatSuperman

Feb 25, 2016
Have you expanded your search to ceramics used in the manufacturing process, rather than just the content in the end product? For example ceramic cores used for casting alloys.

If that's not allowed, then there are a few ceramics in lithium batteries - can you go hybrid? :)

dazzer6666

NSC Patreon
Mar 27, 2013
Burgess Hill
As some may be aware I'm studying for an HNC manufacturing engineering and have just started the Materials Unit.