Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Garage Conversions

poidy

Aug 3, 2009
Anyone know the approx cost to convert a garage into an office space?

The only utilities required will be central heating. It's a front of house garage so just the one window needed.

I'm no expert but I'm guessing it's then just the flooring, a bit of re-wiring, plastering and redecorating?

I'm guessing I won't get much change from 5 grand?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Paul Reids Sock

Nov 3, 2004
Paul Reids boot
I am looking at the same. I have discussed with a number of people and it varies from £8,000 to £28,000!

Depends on whether you will need any structural stuff done if opening up an existing room to be larger, electrics, plumbing etc. My garage sticks out slightly longer than the kitchen it is next to, so if I want to extend the front out to match it then there are additional costs and roofing etc.

All in all, I am looking to budget around 10 grand for it with a back up 2 just in case.

As it will be an office is there anything you can do to write off some of the cost as a business expense?

golddene

Jul 28, 2012
At first glance I was sure it was a Farage conversion and thought it should be on theBrexit thread!!!!!

Knocky's Nose

Mon nez est en Valenciennes..
May 7, 2017
Eastbourne
This could turn into a "garage conversation"...

I'm at £8-10k to do it well. You could save money by buying bits off eBay, but it's a faff.

You can claim back part of your home bills when you use a home office, and I'd say it's almost certain you can write off the conversion costs (are at least part of them if the tax man deems it adds value to your home) against tax.

poidy

Aug 3, 2009