Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Anybody know about tax for Self Employed Hod Carriers?

Balders

Aug 19, 2013
Our Sprog has finally got a job as a Hod Carrier for a brickie - they've told him he's Self Employed/Sole Trader so I've told him to register with HMRC as Self Employed.

However, he's just got paid and the Company who he works for have taken tax/NI off at source as apparently according to said Sprog "it's all changed now".

Hitting my head against a brick wall as I've asked him to find out what he needs to tell HMRC specifically (as he's registered as Self Employed) and the only answer I get back from him is "I have to tell HMRC I'm a Sole Trader"!

The Company he's working for has asked for his UTR number and he got that by registering as Self Employed - can anyone enlighten me how this works as I'm Self Employed and can't get my head around it?

Shatner's Bassoon

The Puff Pastry Hangman
Feb 12, 2012
Our Sprog has finally got a job as a Hod Carrier for a brickie - they've told him he's Self Employed/Sole Trader so I've told him to register with HMRC as Self Employed.

However, he's just got paid and the Company who he works for have taken tax/NI off at source as apparently according to said Sprog "it's all changed now".

Hitting my head against a brick wall as I've asked him to find out what he needs to tell HMRC specifically (as he's registered as Self Employed) and the only answer I get back from him is "I have to tell HMRC I'm a Sole Trader"!

The Company he's working for has asked for his UTR number and he got that by registering as Self Employed - can anyone enlighten me how this works as I'm Self Employed and can't get my head around it?

Isn't this the Construction Industry Scheme (CIS)? Taken off at source and then (hopefully) he gets a rebate at the end of the tax year?

Gazwag

5 millionth post poster
Mar 4, 2004
Bexhill-on-Sea