Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

NUFC Fans foodbank initiative - could we do similar?

Would you be interested in supporting local foodbanks?

• Total voters

zeetha

Apr 11, 2011
Last year Newcastle fans started a scheme for home matches where they donate money and food for local foodbanks - you can read more about it here:

http://www.true-faith.co.uk/launch-of-the-nufc-supporters-foodbank/

https://mcxv.com/football-foodbank-roaring-success-just-start/

Obviously its a disgrace that foodbanks are needed in a 21st Century 1st world country, but I think this is an excellent idea. Obviously it would need approval from the Albion and I've got no experience in setting anything like this up, but would people in principle be interested if this sort of scheme was available?

Z

Uncle Spielberg

NSC Patron
Jul 6, 2003
Lancing
I like the Geordie's. All in all decent football fans imo

GoldWithFalmer

Seaweed! Seaweed!
Apr 24, 2011
SouthCoast

studio150

Jul 30, 2011
On the Border
Why not just take the middle man out, and if you're interested just take food to your local foodbank.

Tom Hark Preston Park

Will Post For Cash
Jul 6, 2003
Foodbanks already exist in most major supermarkets for those that wish to contribute.

On the other hand, the club and its catering suppliers distributing unused post-match food that would otherwise be binned to local homeless shelters (and expanded to include charities such as Help The Aged if they have a same-day distribution mechanism in place) like the Albion did after the fogged-off Cardiff match is a no-brainer and IMHO should be built into our club's and every club's standard catering policy. Criminal to throw perfectly good food away on such a scale.

The Sock of Poskett

The best is yet to come (spoiler alert)
Jun 12, 2009
Sounds a good idea. Is the best route to go via AITC?

The Andy Naylor Fan Club

Aug 31, 2012
Right Here, Right Now