Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

You are all invited to a book launch.....

Spencer Vignes

Oct 4, 2012
Greetings all,

Just to say that you are all invited to the launch of my new book Lost In France on Friday 18 November. The only catch, for those of you resident in God's own county, is it's in my adoptive home of Cardiff (at Octavo's book shop on West Bute Street, down the Bay, from 6pm).

Now obviously that doesn't prevent you from crossing the Severn Bridge, but I appreciate it's probably a bit out of your way. I've never done anything like this before, but a combination of the publisher and the shop saying 'Go on, do it!' twisted my arm. And now, I have to say, I'm really looking forward to it.

Lost In France, as some of you know, is my biography on the former Welsh goalkeeper Leigh Roose who was killed fighting at the Battle of the Somme. Leigh was an amazing fellow, and football's first proper superstar, so I'm also treating this as a party in his name on the 100th anniversary of his death in the most horrible of circumstances. I'd be honoured if you'd come and raise a glass to the great man with me, and share a couple of hours with some like-minded folk. I've copied and pasted the text from the book's press release below, just to give you a taste of what Leigh & the book is all about.

For those of you on here based in South Wales, and for those of you who aren't but fancy a bit of a jolly, I hope to see you there.

Spencer

'In 1914 one of Britain's most famous sportsmen went off to play his part in the First World War. Like millions of others, he would die. Unlike millions of others, nobody knew how or where. Until now.