Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Another one going - Hikers Rest to close

Postman Pat

Jul 24, 2007
Coldean
Hikers Rest is being replaced by an Indian Restaurant. Landlord and Landlady off to The Cobden. Leaving party on Saturday.

Sad times.

Suspect this will be a Sainsburys within 2 years.

Gwylan

Jul 5, 2003
Uffern
I'm amazed, It's absolutely rammed on match days and it's always been pretty busy when I've been in it.

If that pub can't make money, how are the other pubs along Lewes Road surviving?

CorgiRegisteredFriend

May 29, 2011
Boring By Sea
When I was a student at the Poly it was our local pub. The regulars hated us and it never felt that safe a place. Guess it has changed a lot since then- mid eighties.

John Byrnes Mullet

Global Circumnavigator
Oct 4, 2004
Brighton
I'm amazed, It's absolutely rammed on match days and it's always been pretty busy when I've been in it.

If that pub can't make money, how are the other pubs along Lewes Road surviving?

The first few seasons it was packed on match days but not so much now and also very few games on Saturday now which don't help business.

Marty___Mcfly

I see your wicked plan - I’m a junglist.
Sep 14, 2011
They can't change to a restaurant without notifying the council and giving them 56 days notice.

I don't think they have notified the council at all.

Gwylan

Jul 5, 2003
Uffern
The first few seasons it was packed on match days but not so much now and also very few games on Saturday now which don't help business.

There are always masses of people drinking outside the pub on match games - never been inside but I can't believe that people are only outside.

It's a shame if it closes, it's a really friendly pub. Always seem to strike up a conversation with someone there

Cowfold Seagull

Fan of the 17 bus
Apr 22, 2009
Cowfold